Portland, Seattle and Salt Lake to Host Gold Cup Games

Jeld Wen Field>br>Photo: Tim Rogers

Jeld Wen Field is set for international football
Photo: Tim Rogers

Portland and Seattle are among the 13 venues selected by CONCACAF for the 2013 Gold Cup games.

There are 13 venues in total:

HOST CITY – VENUE (Venue Location)

Dallas – Cowboys Stadium (Arlington, TX)

Atlanta – Georgia Dome (Atlanta, GA)

Baltimore – M&T Bank Stadium (Baltimore, MD)

Chicago – Soldier Field (Chicago, IL)

Denver – Sports Authority Field at Mile High (Denver, CO)

Hartford – Rentschler Field (East Hartford, CT)

Houston – BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston, TX)

Los Angeles – Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA)

Miami – Sun Life Stadium (Miami Gardens, FL)

New York– Red Bull Arena (Harrison, NJ)

Portland – JELD-WEN Field (Portland, OR)

Salt Lake City – Rio Tinto Stadium (Sandy, UT)

Seattle – CenturyLink Field (Seattle, WA)

Eight of those venues are being visited for the first time; Georgia Dome in Atlanta, GA; M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore, MD; Sports Authority Field at Mile High in Denver, CO; Rentschler Field in East Hartford, CT; BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, TX; Sun Life Stadium in Miami Gardens, FL; JELD-WEN Field in Portland, OR and Rio Tinto Stadium in Salt Lake City.

“We would like to thank all cities and venues in the United States for their interest in our Confederation’s Gold Cup and congratulate the ones that have been selected to host its 2013 edition.” said CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb in a press release.

“CONCACAF is looking forward to a successful tournament, working in close partnership with both stadium and local authorities, while expanding the reach of our competition to a larger number of fans in more locations throughout the United States.”

Portland’s Jeld Wen Field and the Rio Tinto in Salt Lake hosted women’s international football last year with matches against Canada and the Irish Republic.

Seattle saw Gold Cup action in 2009 when the US played Grenada and Honduras played Haiti in a double header.


US Women Played Rep of Ireland in Portland


The Cup itself will be contested by twelve national teams. Eleven have already qualified for this year’s tournament. They are in alphabetical order: Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Martinique, Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago and the United States.

The final spot will be decided on Friday in the fifth-place match of the 2013 UNCAF Copa Centroamericana between Guatemala and Panama, which is being held in Costa Rica.

Teams and dates for the matches will be announced in March.


About Author

Steve is the founder and owner of Prost Amerika. He covered the expansion of MLS soccer in Cascadia at first hand. As Editor in Chief of soccerly.com, he was accredited at the 2014 World Cup Final. He is the former President of the North American Soccer Reporters Association/ Originally from Glasgow, he is a supporter of the Great Glasgow Alternative, Partick Thistle.

Comments are closed.