Portland Thorns Get Alex Morgan, Tobin Heath and Christine Sinclair



Alex Morgan praised Wambach's contributionPhoto: Denise McCooey

Alex Morgan Played for the Sounders in 2012
Photo: Denise McCooey

The Portland Thorns received the news they had been waiting for today with the release of the names of players heading to each club.

The biggest name among their selection is surely Alex Morgan who graced the jersey of the Sounders Women in 2012. On top of that, two big name US internationals Rachel Buehler and Tobin Heath are heading to the Rose City.

As if their day wasn’t complete, top Canadian Christine Sinclair also head to Oregon in what appears to be the basis of a powerful line up.

Head Coach Cindy Parlow Cone revealed in a Conference Call she had played against Sinclair and coached Heath, and added in a conference call:

“I don’t know if I was surprised. I was definitely excited.

It’s a great foundation for us to build on. We’re hoping to build a championship team around these seven. We would have loved to have four or five internationals. Regardless of which players are playing where, it’s going to be a great rivalry with Seattle.”

On building on the support from Timbers soccer for the Thorns, Parlow Cone added:

“They are great soccer fans. They have a great appreciation for good players. I want to build off what the Timbers have done. I’m still in North Carolina and haven’t had the chance to meet any of the Timbers Army yet.”

55 players from Canada, Mexico and the USA have been allocated among the eight new teams.

Portland will receive:

Rachel Buehler (USA)
Tobin Heath (USA)
Alex Morgan (USA)
Luz Saucedo (MEX)
Marlene Sandoval (MEX)
Karina LeBlanc (CAN)
Christine Sinclair (CAN)

“We are thrilled with today’s allocation, and I see this group of seven players as a terrific foundation for this club,” said Cindy Parlow Cone, head coach of Thorns FC.

“This group has a wealth of quality, international experience, and we are excited to build around them to put together a competitive and entertaining club in our first season.”

Following are the team-by-team allocations:

Boston Breakers
Sydney Leroux (USA)
Heather Mitts (USA)
Heather O’Reilly (USA)
Adriana Leon (CAN)
Rhian Wilkinson (CAN)
Anisa Guajardo (MEX)
Cecilia Santiago (MEX)

Chicago Red Stars
Shannon Boxx (USA)
Amy LePeilbet (USA)
Keelin Winters (USA)
Erin McLeod (CAN)
Carmelina Moscato (CAN)
Maribel Dominguez (MEX)
Dinora Garza (MEX)

FC Kansas City
Nicole Barnhart (USA)
Lauren Cheney (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Desiree Scott (CAN)
Lauren Sesselmann (CAN)
Renae Cuellar (MEX)
Marylin Diaz (MEX)

Portland Thorns FC
Rachel Buehler (USA)
Tobin Heath (USA)
Alex Morgan (USA)
Luz Saucedo (MEX)
Marlene Sandoval (MEX)
Karina LeBlanc (CAN)
Christine Sinclair (CAN)

Seattle Reign FC
Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Amy Rodriguez (USA)
Hope Solo (USA)
Kaylyn Kyle (CAN)
Emily Zurrer (CAN)
Jenny Ruiz (MEX)
Teresa Noyola (MEX)

Sky Blue FC
Jill Loyden (USA)
Kelley O’Hara (USA)
Christie Rampone (USA)
Sophie Schmidt (CAN)
Melanie Booth (CAN)
Monica Ocampo (MEX)
Lydia Rangel (MEX)

Washington Spirit
Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Ali Krieger (USA)
Lori Lindsey (USA)
Robin Gayle (CAN)
Diana Matheson (CAN)
Alina Garciamendez (MEX)
Teresa Worbis (MEX)

Western New York Flash
Carli Lloyd (USA)
Abby Wambach (USA)
Bryana McCarthy (CAN)
Jodi-Ann Robinson (CAN)
Veronica Perez (MEX)
Pamela Tajonar (MEX)

Also See:

Seattle Reign Bag Solo

Solo, Morgan and Rapinoe among 55 NWSL Contracted Players


Comments are closed.