Gspurning, Johnson and Mattocks Among MLS Finalists


Major League Soccer has announced the names of the finalists for some of its end of season player awards.

Mike Gspurning keeping a clean sheet in Salt Lake

Sounders FC are well represented with Austrian goalkeeper Mike Gspurning and US forward Eddie Johnson receiving nominations.

The tall shot stopper was named in the Newcomer of the Year category as well as the Goalkeeper of the Year category

Eddie Johnson in the Comeback Player category.

Johnson set a club record with 14 goals and led MLS with nine goals from headers.

He previously won the award in 2007 with Kansas City.

Vancouver’s Darren Mattocks was named as one of three finalists in the Rookie of the Year group which will be announced on November 19th.

The 22-year-old Jamaican international led the second year MLS club, as well as all MLS rookies, with seven goals – including two game-winners – and registered one assist in 21 regular season appearances.

Mattocks also scored in both the 2012 Amway Canadian Championship and MLS Cup Playoffs.

The Comeback Player of the Year award will be announced on November 27.

The Goalkeeper of the Year and Newcomer of the Year awards will be announced on November 27.

The finalists, listed in alphabetical order below for each award, earned the most votes in polling of three voting groups:

  • Current MLS players
  • MLS Clubs (Coaches, Technical Directors, Presidents, and PR/Community Relations)
  • Media members who covered MLS regularly in 2012 (including the Prost Amerika editor)

The worthies above also voted for the MLS team of the Year which will be announced on November 26th.

Fan voting for the AT&T Goal of the Year and the MLS Save of the Year is conducted on the league’s official website

2012 Major League Soccer Awards Finalists

(Listed in alphabetical order by last name within each award category)

Rookie of the Year Finalists

Austin Berry (Chicago Fire)

Nick DeLeon (D.C. United)

Darren Mattocks (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)

Xbox Individual Fair Play Finalists*

Ante Jazic (Chivas USA)

Logan Pause (Chicago Fire)

Heath Pearce (New York Red Bulls)

*Selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games & minutes played, as well as subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior.

Xbox Team Fair Play Finalists*

Chicago Fire

Houston Dynamo

New England Revolution

*Selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fewest fouls committed, cards received, and on subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior. 

Defender of the Year Finalists

Victor Bernardez (San Jose Earthquakes)

Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City)

Aurelien Collin (Sporting Kansas City) 

MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year Finalists

Kei Kamara (Sporting Kansas City)

Michael Lahoud (Philadelphia Union)

Chris Seitz (FC Dallas) 

Referee of the Year Finalists

Silviu Petrescu

Baldomero Toledo

Armando Villarreal

Assistant Referee of the Year Finalists

Ian Anderson

Gregory Barkey

Corey Parker

Coach of the Year Finalists

Ben Olsen (D.C. United)

Peter Vermes (Sporting Kansas City)

Frank Yallop (San Jose Earthquakes)

Comeback Player of the Year Finalists

Alan Gordon (San Jose Earthquakes)

Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders FC)

Chris Pontius (D.C. United)

Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year Finalists

Michael Gspurning (Seattle Sounders FC)

Dan Kennedy (Chivas USA)

Jimmy Nielsen (Sporting Kansas City)

Newcomer of the Year Finalists

Victor Bernardez (San Jose Earthquakes)

Michael Gspurning (Seattle Sounders FC)

Federico Higuain (Columbus Crew)

Volkswagen Most Valuable Player Finalists

Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls)

Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)


About Author

Steve is the founder and owner of Prost Amerika. He covered the expansion of MLS soccer in Cascadia at first hand. As Editor in Chief of, he was accredited at the 2014 World Cup Final. He is the former President of the North American Soccer Reporters Association/ Originally from Glasgow, he is a supporter of the Great Glasgow Alternative, Partick Thistle.

Comments are closed.